Scam, scam, scam, scam….

Yippy I won a prize. Or at least that is what the blue post card from Silverleaf Resorts said. So maybe I was a little suspicious, but it said I am guaranteed to have won one of their great prizes. But according to this story, it is not a prize I am guaranteed to have won, but a chance, actually a slim chance, to win a prize.

When something seems too good to be true, it usually is. Especially when it comes in the mail and is blue. Guess I will have to fall back on the Nigerian deal I got an email about…

Thank you Mr. Internet, you saved me again.

5 thoughts on “Scam, scam, scam, scam….

  1. it is a scam a scam because they have you scratching this stupid ticket to see if you won to distract you while you are signing the contract,believe me i been there.

  2. have you been to a member update dinner, lunch or asked to spend a few days at one of their resorts.
    If you have been scamed once, wait until you talk to member services they will do every thing in their power to “fleece” you.
    Siverleaf is willing to take your time share at the price you paid 2,4,6,even 10 years ago and sell you a time share at todays prices. You paid $5,500 10 years ago, the sales force calls this “equity”? plus a down payment and you have a new payment of $300 a month for 84 months or more. Guess what that old time share I purchased 10 years ago has a resale price of $28,000 Silverleaf makes a profit of $22,500 resale value and you get stuck paying for another timeshare at the tune of $31,700.

    What a SCAM what a FLEECING, did they see an “L “on my forehead for looser, did I look STUPID maybe its the way I was dressed or was it my hair I had just gotten out of the pool and looked like a Lamb going to the slauhter house.

    Ten years ago they told me I had won an SUV or a Truck instead I left with a payment of $97monthly payment for 84 months if you do the math $8148 plus$58 Maintenace fee to date $6960 = $15,108 and counting.

    Does anyone know the definition of EQUITY please e-mail silverleaf They Are A SCAM

  3. I just enter into the contract with silverleaf resort 10-days ago. I am very concerned after viewing your information about the scam. I do not have a Website at this time only Email.

    Honor Cole

  4. honor cole,

    The scam I am referring to are the ‘prizes’ that are offered if you attend one of their sales pitches. As described in the linked article, most of the prizes have very slim odds of winning. The vacation packages are almost a sure win, but they have restrictions that make them worthless to most people.

    As for time shares themselves, well, many people think the whole idea is a bit of a scam. That depends on your perspective.

    More people venting about Silverleaf Resorts:
    http://www.davesplanet.net/silverleaf/mystory.htm
    http://www.pintmaster.com/wordpress/index.php/20051129/awards-verification-center/
    http://www.clowncarblog.com/archives/000611.html

    This is probably the most balanced article, from the Star Telegram (Sept. 29, 2006): http://www.dfw.com/mld/dfw/news/local/15637980.htm?source=rss&channel=dfw_local

    Some quotes from that article if the link ever breaks:
    “The Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas lists 138 complaints in three years against the company, but many were resolved. The company is listed as a member in good standing.”

    and

    “But years ago, the complaints against the company were more severe. Silverleaf, then operating under the name Freedom Financial, was found guilty in 1988 of federal mail fraud and conspiracy charges and paid a $1.5 million fine, according to a 1997 report from the Austin American-Statesman.”

Leave a Reply

